Print This Article Back to web version

SEC adds Indy Bowl

Kansas City Star

The SEC has grown by two teams and one bowl game.


The conference announced that the Independence Bowl would become part of its postseason lineup, giving the SEC contracts with 10 bowl games, starting with the BCS.


The lineup, by selection order: 1. BCS. 2. Capital One. 3/4 Cotton/Outback. 5. Chick-fil-A. 6. Gator, 7. Music City, 8/9. Liberty/BBVA Compass, 10. Independence.


The Independence Bowl will match the SEC against the ACC's sixth team. In last season's Independence Bowl, Missouri rolled past North Carolina 41-24 with quarterback James Franklin running for two touchdowns and throwing for another.


The additional bowl inventory was needed with the Tigers and Texas A&M joining the SEC.


© 2014 Kansas City Star and wire service sources. All Rights Reserved.