Campus Corner

SEC adds Indy Bowl

Updated: 2012-06-12T15:54:56Z


Kansas City Star

The SEC has grown by two teams and one bowl game.


The conference announced that the Independence Bowl would become part of its postseason lineup, giving the SEC contracts with 10 bowl games, starting with the BCS.


The lineup, by selection order: 1. BCS. 2. Capital One. 3/4 Cotton/Outback. 5. Chick-fil-A. 6. Gator, 7. Music City, 8/9. Liberty/BBVA Compass, 10. Independence.


The Independence Bowl will match the SEC against the ACC's sixth team. In last season's Independence Bowl, Missouri rolled past North Carolina 41-24 with quarterback James Franklin running for two touchdowns and throwing for another.


The additional bowl inventory was needed with the Tigers and Texas A&M joining the SEC.


Deal Saver Subscribe today!


The Kansas City Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Kansas City Star uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here